Skip to main content
Back to blog

Best AI thumbnail maker: 10 tools compared on price

Thumblify Team

20 min read

If you want a YouTube thumbnail and nothing else, a purpose-built thumbnail tool will get you there faster than a general image generator: Pikzels, ThumbMagic and Thumblify all take a title and return a finished 16:9 frame with legible text in it, which is the step that costs the most time everywhere else. If you already pay for a general tool, ChatGPT, Midjourney, Ideogram, Leonardo, Canva, Adobe Express and Microsoft Designer can all make the picture — you will do the cropping, the text and the export yourself. And if you need one thumbnail a week, the free tiers of the general tools are the cheapest correct answer, because no thumbnail tool has a free tier worth the name except Thumblify's, which renews a credit allowance every month, and ThumbMagic's three one-off thumbnails.

How the figures here were checked

Every price and limit below was read on 28 August 2026 from the tool's own pricing or product page, never from another comparison article. Comparison pages copy each other's numbers and the numbers go stale; that is the same failure as every guide still quoting 1280 x 720 for a thumbnail.

Six of the ten gave up their figures: Pikzels, ThumbMagic, Midjourney, Ideogram and Leonardo AI, and ChatGPT's plan names. Three did not, and still have not: Canva serves a Cloudflare challenge instead of its pricing page, Adobe Express is a JavaScript application with no prices in the HTML, and Microsoft's Designer pages assemble their content in the browser. ChatGPT's plan names and image-generation wording could be read but its prices could not — that page builds its plan table in the browser too.

Where a page did not answer, the table says "not stated" and no number was guessed. A missing figure is a fact about this comparison, not a licence to fill it in from memory: every "not stated" below is a page that was actually requested and actually declined, not a gap somebody could not be bothered with. The full list of URLs and what each one gave up is at the end.

Quick comparison

Swipe sideways to see every column

ToolPurpose-built for thumbnailsFree tierEntry paid priceVerified from
ThumblifyYesMonthly credit allowance, watermarked, published to a public gallery$8/monthown code
PikzelsYesNo free tier, free trial offered$28/month billed annually ($40 monthly)own pricing page
ThumbMagicYes3 thumbnails, no card$17/month billed yearlyown pricing page
MidjourneyNoNo$10/month ($8 annual)own docs
IdeogramNoYes, $0, slow credits weekly for eligible accounts$15/month billed annually ($20 monthly)own pricing page
CanvaNoYes, a free plan existsnot statedhomepage only
Adobe ExpressNonot statednot statedcould not read
Leonardo AINoYes, $0, 150 fast tokens/day$12/monthown pricing page
Microsoft DesignerNonot statednot statedcould not read
ChatGPT image generationNoYes, "limited and slower image generation"not statedown pricing page

The three thumbnail-first tools

Thumblify

Who it is for: somebody who makes YouTube videos, wants the thumbnail done in one step, and cares that the caption comes out spelled correctly.

Six models are selectable, and five of the six draw text into the image themselves rather than having it pasted on afterwards. The free plan renews a credit allowance every month and the cheapest generation costs 20 credits, so the allowance is sized around the entry model and everything it exports carries a watermark. Paid plans are $8, $14 and $30 a month, or $48, $84 and $180 a year, granting 800, 3,200 and 7,800 credits. Output is 720p on free, upscaled to 1080p on the $8 plan and to 4K on the two above it.

Face Swap, the Brand Kit and Private Mode are paid-only, and all three are refused by the server rather than merely hidden in the interface. Eight niches and six styles, ten thumbnail format templates of which five are live, a title generator that is free on every plan, and a prompt enhancer that rewrites what you typed into a scene description before the model sees it.

What it does not do: there is no API, no team seats, no way to feed it a video or a YouTube URL, no CTR scoring or A/B tooling, no mobile app, and no way to train it on your own style. Free generations are published to a public gallery by default and turning that off is a paid feature.

Pikzels

Who it is for: creators producing at volume who want scoring and one-click correction built into the loop.

Two plans: Premium at $40 a month, or $28 a month billed annually ($336 a year), for "up to 1,800 thumbnails per year" and 18,000 credits; and Ultimate at $80 a month, or $56 a month annually ($672 a year), for "up to 5,400 thumbnails per year" and 54,000 credits. Annual billing is advertised as "Save 30%" and delivers the credits upfront rather than monthly. There is a free trial and no free tier.

The feature list on their pricing page names Prompt-to-Thumbnail, Recreate, Edit, Pikzels Score, One-Click Fix, Personas, Styles and Titles. Support is "Email Support (24h)" on Premium and "Priority Support (1h)" on Ultimate.

What it does better: Pikzels Score and One-Click Fix are a feedback loop on the thumbnail itself. Nothing in this comparison built by a smaller team has an equivalent, and judging your own thumbnail is the part people are worst at.

ThumbMagic

Who it is for: somebody who already has the video and wants the thumbnail pulled out of it, and anybody whose monthly volume is genuinely unpredictable.

Three plans, all quoted billed yearly: Starter $17 a month for 100 thumbnails a month and one avatar; Pro $35 a month for 500 thumbnails a month, up to ten avatars and "2x faster thumbnail generation speed"; Business $59 a month for unlimited thumbnails a month, unlimited avatars, "4x faster" generation, AI filters and AI face expressions. No watermark on any plan. You can try it with three free thumbnails and no card, and there is a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Its own description of the flow starts with the video: "Paste your youtube url, transcribe file or upload video. The AI will extracts key moments and identifies visual hooks." It also advertises 4K export and being "Built for A/B testing".

One thing worth knowing: the product sits at thumbmagic.ai, but its pricing page is served from app.submagic.co, so it is part of Submagic rather than a standalone company.

What it does better: two things, clearly. Starting from the video instead of from a title, and an unlimited plan at a fixed price. If you make forty thumbnails one month and four the next, a credit budget is the wrong shape and $59 flat is the right one.

The general image tools

These were not built for thumbnails. That is not a criticism — it means you get a picture and you do the rest, and for several of them the picture is better than anything a thumbnail tool will give you.

Midjourney

Who it is for: anybody who wants the best-looking image and is willing to crop, caption and export it themselves.

Four plans, from Midjourney's own comparison page: Basic $10 a month ($96 a year, $8 a month), Standard $30 ($288, $24), Pro $60 ($576, $48) and Mega $120 ($1,152, $96). Fast GPU time is 3.3 hours a month on Basic and 15, 30 and 60 hours above it. Standard and above include unlimited image generations in Relax Mode. Extra fast time is $4 an hour. Annual billing is a 20% discount.

Stealth Mode, which keeps your images private, is on the Pro and Mega plans only. On usage rights their page states that if you have subscribed at any point you may use your images in "just about any way you want", and that a company making more than $1,000,000 a year in gross revenue must be on Pro or Mega.

What it does better: unlimited generation. Every thumbnail tool here meters you, including this site. On Midjourney Standard at $30 you can generate all month in Relax Mode without counting, and for somebody iterating hard on a look that is a different kind of tool.

Ideogram

Who it is for: people who need words rendered correctly inside a picture, and who want the surrounding editing apps in the same place.

Ideogram describes itself as "AI apps and models in one platform". Its own navigation lists an Ad Resizer, Background Remover, Colorways, Material Swap and Object Remover as apps, Ideogram 4.0 and 3.0 as models, and use cases including "Editable text layers" and "Character consistency". It also publishes a developer section with an API, API pricing, API docs and an MCP endpoint.

Five plans, read from their own pricing page: Free at $0, Plus at $15 a month billed annually ($20 monthly), Pro at $42 a month billed annually ($504 a year, $60 monthly), Team at $20 per user a month billed annually ($30 monthly), and Enterprise on request. Yearly billing is advertised as "Up to 33% off".

The credits split two ways and the split is the interesting part. Priority credits are metered — 1,000 a month on Plus, 3,500 on Pro, 1,500 per user on Team, and none at all on Free, which gets slow credits "Weekly for eligible accounts". Slow credits are unlimited on every paid plan. Private generations and quality export are paid-only; the free plan has neither, and is limited to one running or queued generation against 8 on Plus and 32 on Pro.

What it does better: it has a real public API. This site has none — that row was removed from its own feature table when it turned out to name something that did not exist. If you want thumbnails generated by your own pipeline rather than by a person clicking, Ideogram is in this list and most of the others are not.

Canva

Who it is for: anybody whose thumbnail is one item in a much longer list of things they have to design.

Canva calls itself a "Visual Suite for Everyone", and its own navigation covers presentations, documents, whiteboards, sheets, websites, print design, a video editor, a photo editor, a background remover and an AI image generator. A free plan exists.

Prices and AI credit limits: not stated. Asked again on 28 August 2026, canva.com/pricing returned a Cloudflare challenge page — "Enable JavaScript and cookies to continue" — rather than the plan table, so no figure was read. A free plan exists; that much its own pricing page title states.

What it does better: everything that is not a thumbnail. If you also need a channel banner, an end card, a lower third, a press kit and a set of Shorts covers, one Canva subscription covers all of it and every dedicated thumbnail tool in this article covers exactly one of those.

Leonardo AI

Who it is for: somebody who wants a large monthly generation budget, their own trained models, and does not mind assembling the thumbnail themselves.

Four individual plans from their own pricing page: Free at $0 with 150 fast tokens a day and a 150 token bank; Essential at $12 a month with 8,500 fast tokens a month; Premium at $30 with 25,000; and Ultimate at $60 with 60,000. Yearly billing is "Up to 20% off". Team plans start at Starter, $72 a month at $24 a seat. Premium and Ultimate add unlimited image generation "at a relaxed pace", and Ultimate adds unlimited relaxed video.

Two rows on that page are worth reading twice if you are choosing on privacy. Creations access is listed as "Public" on the Free plan and "Private" from Essential upward — the same arrangement this site has, and the same one it is criticised for above. And personal AI models, meaning models trained on your own images, run from 10 on Essential to 50 on Ultimate.

What it does better: training a model on your own material. This site cannot do it at all, and for somebody who wants every thumbnail to look like their channel rather than like a style preset, that is the feature that decides it.

Adobe Express and Microsoft Designer

Grouped together honestly, because on 28 August 2026 nothing about these two could be verified from their own pages from this machine. Adobe Express did not complete a connection on adobe.com and serves a JavaScript application on express.adobe.com with no prices in the HTML; Microsoft's own Designer pages assemble their content in the browser and the Microsoft 365 page reached instead carries no pricing.

Both are real, current products that generate images from a prompt, and Microsoft's own site lists an "AI Image Generator" among the Microsoft 365 Copilot features. Beyond that, this article has nothing sourced to tell you, and the rest of the internet's numbers for them are the ones we declined to copy. Check their pricing pages yourself before choosing on price.

ChatGPT image generation

Who it is for: the very large number of people already paying for ChatGPT who do not want another subscription.

OpenAI's pricing page lists Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business and Enterprise. On image generation specifically it says the Free plan gets "Limited and slower image generation", Go gets "More image creation", and Plus gets "More complex and accurate image creation". The prices are not stated here because the page renders them in the browser rather than in the HTML.

What it does better: it is already on your phone and you are already paying for it. For one thumbnail a week that beats a second subscription, and the honest advice is to try it before buying anything in this article.

When Thumblify is not the right choice

Specifically, and with the tool to use instead.

  • You want to work from the video, not the title. There is no way to give this site a video file or a YouTube URL. Use ThumbMagic, whose flow begins by pasting a URL and pulling key moments out of it.
  • Your volume is spiky or high. Every plan here is a credit budget with a hard stop; the largest is 7,800 credits a month, which is 390 generations at the cheapest model. Use ThumbMagic Business at $59 a month for unlimited thumbnails, or Midjourney Standard at $30 for unlimited images in Relax Mode.
  • You want to generate from your own code. There is no API here at all. Use Ideogram, which publishes one, or any hosted model provider.
  • You need more than thumbnails. Banners, end cards, Shorts covers, a press kit. Use Canva or Adobe Express; one subscription covers the whole list.
  • You need a team. No seats, no shared workspace, no shared billing. One account is one person.
  • You will not pay and you need your work private. On the free plan generations are published to a public gallery by default, and the switch that prevents it is a paid feature. Thumbnails made with a face photo are never published on any plan, but everything else on free is public. If that is not acceptable and you are not paying, use ThumbMagic's three free thumbnails or a general tool's free tier instead.
  • You want to be told whether the thumbnail is any good. There is no scoring and no A/B tooling. Pikzels has Pikzels Score and One-Click Fix; ThumbMagic advertises being built for A/B testing.

How to choose

Four questions, in the order that actually decides it.

  1. What do you start from? A title, or a finished video. If it is the video, the field narrows to one tool immediately and nothing else in this article closes that gap.
  2. Is the volume steady? Steady volume suits a credit budget and you should compare cost per thumbnail. Spiky volume suits an unlimited plan, where you are buying the absence of arithmetic rather than the images.
  3. Do you need words inside the picture? This is where general image tools have historically been weakest and where the dedicated tools and Ideogram concentrate. If your thumbnails are typographic, test this before paying, with your own worst case: a short label and two long lines.
  4. Is the thumbnail the only thing you design? If it is not, one general design subscription probably beats two specialised ones, even when the specialised one is better at the one job.

A fifth, if you have a face in your thumbnails: check what each tool does with the photograph and how long it keeps it, before you upload it.

Feature comparison

Every "yes" in the Thumblify column below was read out of this site's own source, not from its marketing pages. "not stated" means the tool's own pages did not answer on 28 August 2026.

Swipe sideways to see every column

ThumblifyPikzelsThumbMagicMidjourneyIdeogramChatGPTCanva
Built for thumbnailsYesYesYesNoNoNoNo
Free tierYes, monthly credit allowanceNo3 thumbnailsNoYes, $0YesYes
Free tier is unwatermarkedNono free tierYesno free tiernot statedYesnot stated
Free tier is privateNono free tiernot statedno free tierNonot statednot stated
Unlimited plan availableNoNoYes, $59/monthYes, from $30/monthYes, slow credits from $15/monthnot statednot stated
Starts from a video or URLNonot statedYesNoNoNoNo
Public APINonot statednot statednot statedYesnot statednot stated
Team seatsNonot statedYes, Businessnot statedYes, $20/user/monthBusiness plan listedBusiness plan listed
Scoring or A/B toolingNoYes, Pikzels ScoreYes, A/B testingNoNoNoNo
General design workNoNoNoNoPartly, editing appsNoYes
Face in the thumbnailPaid plansYes, PersonasYes, avatarsnot statedCharacter consistencynot statednot stated
Text drawn by the modelYes, 5 of 6 modelsnot statednot statednot statedYes, a stated strengthnot statednot stated
4K outputPaid plansnot statedYesnot statednot statednot statednot stated
Entry paid price$8/month$28/month annual$17/month yearly$8/month annual$15/month annualnot statednot stated

Eight of those fourteen rows are still a "No" for this site, and filling in the missing prices did not move that number — nothing about this site changed, and none of the newly readable cells turned a loss into a win. Seven of the eight are a win somebody else's own pages back up: an unwatermarked free tier (ThumbMagic), an unlimited plan (ThumbMagic, Midjourney, and now Ideogram's unlimited slow credits from $15 a month), starting from a video (ThumbMagic), a public API (Ideogram), team seats (ThumbMagic Business, and Ideogram at $20 per user), scoring or A/B tooling (Pikzels, ThumbMagic), and general design work, which is Canva's whole product and not ours.

The eighth is the one row nobody wins. A free tier that keeps your work private is not offered here, and Ideogram's free plan does not offer it either — its own comparison table leaves "Private generations" blank on Free — while Leonardo's pricing page lists free creations as "Public" and private ones from $12 a month up. That is apparently what a free tier costs across this category, which is an explanation and not a defence: it is still a "No" in our column.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best AI thumbnail maker?

There is no single answer and any article giving you one is selling something. For a title-to-thumbnail workflow, the three dedicated tools are faster than the general ones. For image quality alone, Midjourney. For words inside the picture, Ideogram or a dedicated tool. For one thumbnail a week, whatever you already pay for.

Is there a genuinely free AI thumbnail maker?

Partly. Thumblify's free plan renews a credit allowance every month, spent at whichever model you pick, watermarked and published to a public gallery. ThumbMagic gives three thumbnails with no card. Pikzels has a trial but no free tier. The general tools' free tiers make images without a thumbnail workflow around them.

Can AI put readable text on a thumbnail now?

Yes, and this is the thing that changed most recently. Five of the six models selectable on this site draw the caption themselves rather than having it composited on afterwards, and Ideogram treats text rendering as a headline capability. It is still worth testing with your own worst case before you commit money: a short label plus two long lines is where models fail.

What size should the thumbnail be?

3840 x 2160 at 16:9, within the 50 MB desktop limit. That has its own article: YouTube thumbnail size.

Do these tools let me use the thumbnails commercially?

Check each one's terms rather than a comparison table. Midjourney's own plan page is unusually explicit: subscribing at any point lets you use your images "in just about any way you want", with the caveat that a company over $1,000,000 in annual gross revenue must be on Pro or Mega. The others were not verifiable on the date above.

Can I put my own face in the thumbnail?

On the dedicated tools, yes, and all three charge for it: Pikzels calls it Personas, ThumbMagic calls it avatars and limits the count by plan, and on this site Face Swap is paid-only and refused by the server on a free account. Read the privacy terms before uploading a photograph of anybody, including yourself.

Is a dedicated thumbnail tool worth it over ChatGPT?

If you publish weekly or more, probably, because the saving is not the picture but the crop, the caption, the sizing and the export. If you publish monthly, probably not.

Verdict

Pick by what you start from and how spiky your volume is, not by who has the longest feature list. If you start from a title and publish regularly, one of the three dedicated tools; among them, Pikzels if you want scoring, ThumbMagic if you want the video as the input or an unlimited plan, and Thumblify if you want the cheapest entry price and text drawn by the model. If you start from a finished video, ThumbMagic. If you want the best picture and will finish it yourself, Midjourney. If your thumbnail is one of twenty things you design, Canva. And if you already pay for ChatGPT and publish occasionally, use that until it annoys you.

Verified against each tool's own pricing page on 28 August 2026:

Figures for this site come from its own source rather than its marketing pages: prices and credits from src/pricing.js, plan entitlements from src/planFeatures.js, model text rendering from src/modelCapabilities.js, and the paid-only refusals from the endpoints that issue them.

Thumblify generates thumbnails from a video title.

Open the generator